Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
A year as Au pair in the United States

The beginning

21 Mars 2015 , Rédigé par Margot Pinglot

The beginning

Hello my name is Margot, I'm 18 and I live in France to an hour and a half from Paris.
I had my "BAFA" one year ago, it's a diploma to become animator in leisure centers.

I decided to be an au pair Because I love children and I want to test myself, to gain independence and share a wonderful adventure.

So I enrolled me in an information meeting in the organisation Cultural Care. This date is a meeting where an former Aupair talks about the rules, the money must be provided, insurance, the traning school, and several major points of the organisation and her/his former experience. Following the briefing, if you are interested to be an au pair, a woman put your name down on a list to get you an interview. For example, he sent me a letter telling me that I was invited to come to the information meeting in Paris (there are several organizations in France, the nearest to me was paris) on 02.14.2015 and my interview was a week after the 20.02.2015. People who lived far from Paris, spent their interview on the day of the briefing.


I admit that the day of the interview is really stressful. My level of English isn't great, I'm rather weak in English but I still manage to get by trying to make myself understood. You must try to prepare your interview a little bit before so as not to stress a lot. What is reassuring is that this interview is going on with an former Au pair, she/he will try to reassure you up. :)
The interview takes place in several stages. The first is a small questionaire in English, asking you if you've committed murder, inform your entertainment, information about your parents, your brothers and sisters .. if you have worked with children. It was rather simple.

After this questionnaire, She begins to ask you a questions in French, on the activities that you could do with the children, a childhood memory, a situation that stress you out, but you have managed to overcome ... ect (maybe for 20 min)
Afterwards, She begins to ask you some question in English, it was the hardest part, but even if for you it will be difficult to formulate sentences, take your time and above all try to rephrase your sentences for the former Aupair understand you.

This interview in English is tosee your ability to speak in English, in order to assess your level and put it in your profile so that future family agrees with your English level.

After that, I was contacted and told me that my application on internet was oppened. This is a very long part. This file will be your profile, it is a very important part where you have to take the good time to supplement and refine it. Here, you need to stay natural, while giving the family want to choose you. There are several questions about your views on children, on the relationship with your family, your host family, your hobbies, different experiences with children, different activities you do with them, and it takes pictures choose well and the most important : the letters for the host family.


My letter are:

"Dear Host Family,
I'm so glad to finally write this letter because it means that I am really going to realize my project, and it may be with you !

First, let me introduce myself! My name is Margot, I was born on July, 30 1996, I’m 18 years old. I live in France, about half past one hour from Paris, in a small town located in the area of the central region. I'm currently doing my last year of high school. I will pass the exam of the end of highschool in June. The week, I live in boarding school but i go every week end to see my parents. My parents are called François and Chantal. I have two older sisters who are called Mélissa and Léa, they are 29 ans 24 years old. I also have an older brother, Jacquou, who is 35 years old. I'm surrounded by a large family. I have many cousins that I take care as often as I can. I also have 4 beautiful cats.
My family and friends support me in my decision of being an au pair next year. They know it is an experience I wanted to live for a long time. I would try this experience Au pair to discover a new horizon, a new culture, a new food culture... and take care of your children which will be for me a truly amazing experience.
I'm very curious to see what this experience can give me! I am willing to this experience in order to broaden my perspective. As I said, being an au pair is a dream comes true. The baby sitting I have done, made my passion for children grow up.

I had a diploma allowing me to work in day camps. This diploma requires 3 training sessions, the first one was to help us learning about children, so we learned their needs, and everything specific to these ages. The second one was in a day camp where I worked for a month, and the third one was more focused on the needs for kids and every questions I ask myself.. So, The last summer, I worked in the leisure center. I had to prepare activities, neither manual ones nor sport ones. We also go to the swimming pool, so I have to play with them while watching them; we go to the zoo, all different kind of activities.
I like a lot playing with children, teaching them new things, and good manners of living. A child is often curious, and i love this curiosity. This reminds me of something, where I learned a lot of things to children through the activities, the quiz game, and when they asked me questions. But children also taught me a lot of things. That's what i love with children!!

I was looking for a way to go abroad to further my knowledge in English and i relied on the example of my sister, who was Au pair in 2010 in Florida, USA. I spent whole days with her and the children and I loved their complicity, she was really well integrated to the family. I know it can be not easy, I am aware of all the responsibilities but I also know that I want to share great things with the children and the host family.
I like to move, i don't like being bored. Since childhood, I have always loved the sports. I have long been dancing and play basketball. A period of my adolescence, i wanted to change the sport, and I’ve tried many sports such as Athletics. I realized that I preferred the collective sport. This year I decided to try Rugby, i never through such a practice this sport, but i like a lot of collective spirit, and strategy put in place to win.

I also love music; i have practiced drums for few years. I’m really interested in the piano, my sisters played piano. I enjoyed watching them to play, and i learned some basics songs. My family is a family of musicians. My parents play the guitar. I also love to sing even if i don't sing very well :)
I don't know how to describe me; I think the other people reviews are the best to describe someone... But I will try to describe me! I'm an ambitious person, very dynamic, I like to enjoy life and give my good mood to others peoples around me. I'm generous and trustworthy person. I know distinguished fun and serious. I think I have all the qualities requested to take care of children thanks to my experience. I am responsible, serious, willing to share great moments with you. I like to laugh; I am always here when someone needs to be cheer up.

I love to travel, i went to many countries, such as Thailand, Florida in USA and all European countries next to France (Italy, Germany, England, Spain) and I like walking, boating, skiing and many other activities. I can't wait to discover new activities and new landscapes!

I feel it would be an amazing experience to make a useful contribution to a family as the valuable experience it could offer me.
I would love to be a "big sister" to your children, share my culture, provide housekeeping and help with cooking! And If you want, I can share my culture in your family by cooking French meals, listen to French music with your children, or even games.

Please, contact me if you think i could be the right fit for your sweet family
Best Regards,
Margot :) "

Coming soon: the second step, the video and the match with the future host family.

my apply

my apply

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article